You Come every month and Now You may not at all!

Lakshmi Thampi
4 min read1 day ago
  • A woman’s journey on the cycle she has every month.

This is a unique experience for women; none other than us can authentically speak of it. No empathy can make you aware of it; I assure you.

I experienced it for the first time in my teens, and I am still figuring that out in my 40s. Each passing decade of experience with it is different and unique for each of us. Isn’t that an experience worthy of having? All your lifetime, you are perplexed, sometimes joyous, other times angry, and many times apprehensive about it. Can any man boast of such an experience ever? Never! I can assure you.

As I said, in my teens, when I encountered it, I was perplexed; I ran to my all-in-one — My mom; she assured me it’s part of me that I need to understand. I need to be a bit careful with my body, and I was showered with all the care of ayurvedic massages and treatments. I enjoyed them all, only to be woken up by early morning, as my mom was insistent on me taking care of myself before I attended school. She didn’t want to interrupt my school because of that. I have been told that, in earlier times, girls never attended school when they were on it, and some of them discontinued because of it. Thankfully, times have changed, and I continue to live my daily life without knowing much about it. This process has become a monthly thing now, with a bit of discomfort in the legs and tummy; otherwise, it was an ok experience. Still haven’t figured out why I am getting it and its significance. It wasn’t…

--

--

Lakshmi Thampi

Digital contributor @teknospire @hundred4future. Enthu of Photography, Food and Movement. Writes on mind, digital marketing, travel & relationships for clarity